California CDL Renewal: There are some requirements to get your commercial Driver's license renewed. The key requirements are listed below:
Renewal of CDL License in Person
- Visit your local Department of Motor Vehicle office (DMV).
- It is always better to book a prior online appointment to renew CDL online California
- Fill and sign up for DL 44C California Commercial Driver License Application form.
- It is mandatory that the original DL 44C is submitted, the copies are not accepted by DMV.
- The DL 44 or DL44C form is not provided online by the department because original signatures are required on the form.
- Every DL 44C or DL 44 form holds a unique barcode that is scanned by the DMV employee.
- Get a DL 44 or DL 44 C form through DMV's Automated Telephone Service at 1-800-777-0133(which is available 24 hours a day, 7 days per week).
- It is mandatory to complete a 10-year history records check form (DL 939) or the driver's license ten-year history record check renewal form (DL 10Y). The regulations are followed if you have been issued a driver's license in the same or different name for the operation of any type of motor vehicle in another state or jurisdiction within the past ten years.
- Fill up and submit the complete DL 939 with the Commercial Driver's license application (DL 44C) or the DL 10 renewal application form.
- The department will have your picture and thumbprint collected.
- You need to have your entire process fees paid.
- There is a visual examination that needs to be passed.
- If you have a renewal notice, you take a written test. The written test includes traffic laws and sign tests. The first 18 questions are to be answered in 36-question exams. The passing score needs to be at least 15 correct answers. There are three chances to pass the exam.
- You are required to submit the correct address to the DMV.
Note: DOT medical card expiration grace period California is 2 years and in case your date is getting near, get it renewed as soon as possible. If not done on time, you may lose your CDL license. It is best to know more about FMCSA medical regulations to avoid going under such a situation.
Documents to be submitted:
- The commercial driver's license
- Residency document
- DL 10Y
- Identity document
- MCSA-5875 & MCSA-5876
Popular California CDL Renewal-Related Questions and Answers
How often do you have to renew your CDL in California?
- In California, drivers are supposed to renew their driving license after every 5 years. It is done typically on your birthday and the DMV always forwards a renewal notice two months before the license expiration.
How much does it cost to renew a CDL in California?
- The renewal fees of CDL in California is $50.
How long do you have to renew CDL California after it expires in CA?
- There is a 60 day period for the renewal of the license after expiration. If the 60 day period finishes, the DMV will notify you of a new driver's license application at the nearest office.
Do you have to retake the driving test if your license expires in California?
- If the renewal period of 60 days has passed you are supposed to submit a new application. If it's been more than 2 years since your license has expired, you will have to take a road skills test again.
What happens if you drive with an expired license in California?
- Driving without a valid or expired license will be considered an infraction. For the first arrest, there are infraction fines.
Can I renew my CDL permit before it expires in California?
- The CDL can be renewed for 180 days if the date of expiry is not more than one year from the initial date of application.
Is there a grace period for an expired driver's license?
- The grace period for an expired driver's license is 30 days.
How soon can I renew my driver's license online in California?
- The driver's license needs to be renewed up to six months before the expiration and upto two months after its expiration. The California DMV forwards a renewal notice via email two months prior to the expiration.
Do you get a temporary license when you renew online in California?
- Yes, the temporary license is received via mail when the CDL is renewed online in California. The temporary license is valid for 60 days.
Can you drive while waiting for a replacement license?
- If the replacement card is still being processed, you can drive legally, but you need to show identification proof of the replacement license.
Can I print a temporary license CA?
- Yes, the drivers are encouraged to carry a temporary extension card, but it is always necessary to carry a valid ID.
Does the CA DMV give you a temporary ID?
- Yes after fulfilling the necessary requirements, the California DMV forwards the temporary ID via mail within 3-4 weeks.